North Hill School District Logo
Quick Links
Middle School Activities

Art Club

JoHannah Brawdy & Becky Burdette - brawdyj@nhsd.net/burdetter@nhsd.net

Art Club provides students with the opportunity to improve existing artistic skills and learn new processes in ceramics, painting, jewelry and drawing.

Band

Chris Rodack - rodackc@nhsd.net
Middle School band offerings include Beginning Band for Grade 7, Cadet Band for Grade 7 students who participated in elementary band, Intermediate Band for Grade 8 Students, Jazz Band and Marching Band for Grade 8 students.

Chorus

Renee Triscila - triscilar@nhsd.net

Grade 7 Chorus meets three days per week, and Grade 8 Chorus meets daily. Both classes are full-year courses which involve preparation for three scheduled evening concerts. Students who wish to sing more challenging repertoire are invited to audition for the Concert Choir, which is open to all middle school students. The Concert Choir meets three days per week for 20 minutes during homeroom and performs at various times throughout the school year as well as at the High Note Festival held at Carnegie Mellon University each spring.

Drama Club

Lisa Marcellus - marcellusl@nhsd.net

Drama Club presents a musical production annually during the last weekend in January. These musicals are shortened versions of full-scale shows and are designed specifically for middle school voices. In addition to the cast members performing on stage, a Tech Crew is selected as part of the Drama Club to build set pieces and manage the behind-the-scenes aspects of the show, such as scene changes, light and sound operation. Auditions are held for the cast at the end of October.

French Club

Julie McKnight - mcknightj@nhsd.net

French Club develops an awareness and appreciation for the French culture through a variety of activities.

German Club

Beth Boro - borob@nhsd.net

German Club develops an awareness and appreciation for the German culture through a variety of activities.

Intramurals

Franz Ratnavale- ratnavalef@nhsd.net

Intramurals affords the opportunity to all students to participate in a variety of competitive and recreational sport activities within the school and during the homeroom period. Participants will be provided instruction for skills development, and no prior experience in the sports is necessary, nor any athletic ability level is required. Students will learn about rules, sportsmanship, physical conditioning, team building, recreation planning and a variety of different intramural sports

Latin Club

Melanie Naugle - nauglem@nhsd.net

Latin Club provides cultural awareness and enrichment.

Literati Readers

Meghan Clark and Jill Brooks- clarkm@nhsd.net/brooksj@nhsd.net

Literati Readers is a club for any student in 7th and 8th grades. If you are interested in anything and everything about books, authors, and reading, Literati Readers is just the right club for you! While book discussion is always part of our activities, there is much more to do throughout the year. Special activities are available all week long during Teen Read Week in October. At another time during the year we take a field trip to meet national and world-renowned authors as well as participate in virtual author visits right in the Middle School library. In the spring, students can share their book smarts in our annual Battle of the Books, and we finish the year with the Summer Reading Kickoff celebration during which students have the opportunity to “shop” for books to borrow over the summer months.

Literati Writers

Nate Wilkinson- wilkinsonn@nhsd.net

Literati Writers is a club that celebrates writing and gives students a chance to discover, practice, and enhance their skills. Students will write and publish in a variety of formats and will also have the opportunity to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), the Pittsburgh's City Theatre's Young Playwright's Contest, and a few other competitions throughout the year.

Orchestra

Len Lavelle - lavellel@nhsd.net

Orchestra members learn and rehearse music played in concerts throughout the year. Performances also are given at community events and school assemblies.

Service Club

Tina Norman/Melissa Baird- normant@nhsd.net/bairdm@nhsd.net

As a member of Service Club, 7th and 8th grade students are given the opportunity to help others in their community. Students will organize and implement a variety of service projects throughout the school year. Projects they may participate in are: organize school-based activities for Unity Day, an anti-bullying campaign; conduct a food drive to provide Thanksgiving dinners to needy families in the immediate area; plan and facilitate a holiday party and Senior Prom for the residents at Vincentian Nursing Home; raise money for Reflections of Grace Foundation – a nonprofit organization that supports children and their families affected by pediatric brain cancer; collaborate with North Hills Community Outreach to provide Easter baskets/meals to families in need; volunteer time at Animal Friends animal shelter. Service Club is a wonderful opportunity for students to not only give of themselves, but to improve their community as well.

Spanish Club

Rose Radovic - radovicr@nhsd.net

Spanish Club provides Spanish and Latin American cultural awareness and enrichment to Spanish students.

Student Council

Franz Ratnavale & Joe Vozza - ratnavaler@nhsd.net/vozzaj@nhsd.net

Student Council consists of four committees - Art, which decorates the school; Service, which organizes school wide activities, Community, which arranges the Holiday Food Drive and Spirit, which creates a more positive atmosphere.

STEAM

Meg Ward/JoHannah Brawdy- wardm@nhsd.net/brawdyj@nhsd.net

STEAM is an educational approach to learning that uses Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts and Mathematics as access points for guiding student inquiry, dialogue, and critical thinking. During STEAM club students will be working on problem solving skills through inquiry based learning and hands on projects

Teacher Helpers

Nate Wilkinson- wilkinsonn@nhsd.net

Teacher Helpers is a club that supports our teaching staff and the various activities, events, and initiatives that are occurring in our school. Students will help to promote upcoming events, decorate portions of our building, and assist with a number of projects at our school, making it a better and brighter place.

Yearbook Club

Franz Ratnavale/Joe Vozza- ratnavaler@nhsd.net/vozzaj@nhsd.net

Yearbook club participants will learn about the entire process of putting a yearbook together. Students will learn some general/basic photography skills, graphic layout, editing, computer and organizational skills. Students will learn how to take photos, edit, and submit photographs that will then be subject to editing by the Yearbook club. Additionally, they will contribute to the design of the yearbook from cover to cover. No prior photography, graphic, editing or computer skills are required. The club will also encourage team building and collaboration due to the process of designing and making a yearbook.

Slow Pitch Softball

Ed Vesely - epvesely@gmail.com

 

Inline Roller Hockey

Mike Wiseman - michaelpwiseman@yahoo.com 

North Hill School District Logo
North Hills School District
135 Sixth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Phone: 412-318-1000 Fax: 412-318-1084
About
Schools
Academics
Athletics & Activities
Parents
Administration
School Board
Alumni
© 2017. North Hills School District. School CMS created by eSchoolView