North Hill School District Logo
Quick Links
High School Activities
A.F.S. (American Field Service)
Joe Deible - deiblej@nhsd.net

A.F.S. promotes understanding, knowledge and friendship among students and works closely with foreign exchange students.

Arrowhead
Jenna Long - longj@nhsd.net 

A.S.L. (American Sign Language)
Barbara Drennan - drennanb@nhsd.net

A.S.L provides the opportunity to practice sign language by attending events with deaf people.

Astronomy Club
Karen Grumski - grumskik@nhsd.net 

Astronomy Club allows students the chance to explore astronomy and entering competitions.

Band, Majorettes & Flagline
Len Lavelle - lavellel@nhsd.net

Marching Band presents an opportunity for musicians to participate in a group that is known throughout the country for its precision marching and quality musicianship. Majorettes perform dance and baton twirling routines as an auxiliary group of the marching band. Flagline performs dance and flag routines as an auxiliary group of the marching band.

The Buddy Program
Bonnie Ziff - ziffb@nhsd.net

CADD (Computer-Aided Drafting & Design)
Jim Cassandro - cassandroj@nhsd.net

CADD Club explores architecture and engineering as possible careers and provides information about employment opportunities.

Cheerleading
Ali Abbott & Katlyn Graf - abbotta@nhsd.net

Cheerleading promotes school spirit and supports North Hills athletic teams.

Chess Club
Alice Kilroy - kilroya@nhsd.net 

Choirs
Shaun Cloonan - cloonans@nhsd.net

North Hills offers Symphonic Choir and Women’s Choir as school-day academic classes that perform at school and invitational concerts. Extra-curricular ensembles include North Hills Singers, Madrigal Choir, Dreamcatchers Women's Ensemble, and Arrow Men's Ensemble.  These ensembles perform at special District events, for the community, as well as for the annual Choral Parents Association Madrigal Dinner and Cabaret Night fundraisers. The choirs travel annually with the music department for competitive performance.

Hilltop Heroes
Dave Barkovich - barkovichd@nhsd.net

Diversity Council
Deb Davis - davisd@nhsd.net

Diversity Club represents a group of students committed to the principles of acceptance, inclusion and respect for all. These students work to help break down stereotypes and ensure that all students feel accepted and empowered. This group seeks to continually improve the climate for the entire North Hills School Community.

Drama Club
Kevin Richey and Glen Richey - richeyk@nhsd.net 

North Hills High School produces and performs a fall play and a spring musical each year. Drama Club members also participate in the annual Shakespeare Monologue contest. Opportunities are available for stage performers, tech crew, and pit orchestra members.

The Debate Club
Dawn Zahorchak & Stephanie Celender - zahorchakd@nhsd.net/celenders@nhsd.net 

French Club
Missi Marangoni - marangonim@nhsd.net

French Club heightens awareness of ethnic diversity and increases knowledge of France and French customs.

Future Business Leaders of America
Kellee Kanith - kanithk@nhsd.net

FBLA members expand skills and knowledge of the business world, explores business careers, encourages and promotes scholarship, service, and competent, aggressive business leadership.

Future Teachers of America
Joe Deible - deiblej@nhsd.net

FTA helps students gain a realistic understanding of the nature of education and the role of the teacher by coordinating information about teaching as a profession, employment opportunities and educational issues.

German Club
Joe Deible - deiblej@nhsd.net

German Club offers activities revolving around the German culture and traditions and provides opportunities to foster leadership and school spirit.

Graphics Club
Joe Bosley & James Meininger - bosleyj@nhsd.net/meiningerj@nhsd.net

Graphics Club provides students the opportunity to learn basic and advanced screen printing techniques.

Hands for Service
Amy Patsilevas - patsilevasa@nhsd.net

Hands for Service Club fosters the value of community service and cultivates school spirit through involvement with organizations such as Make-A-Wish, Special Olympics and many others.

History Club
Jamie DeWeese - deweesej@nhsd.net 

Japanese Club
Karen Grumski - grumskyk@nhsd.net

Bands
Len Lavelle - lavellel@nhsd.net

The Concert Band, Symphonic Band, Wind Symphony, Wind Ensemble and Jazz Band are known throughout the country for their excellence. These groups offer students the opportunity to learn and study music through the finest band repertoire available. In addition to regular concert performances, the bands sponsor annual events such as Jazz Night and Mardi Gras. They have been invited to perform at conferences around the country and each present a world premier as part of the longest running commission series in the United States.

Latin Club
Kurt Zebley  - zebleyk@nhsd.net

Latin Club involves activities such as field trips, which highlight the application of Latin.

NHTV
Brian Bellissimo - bellissimob@nhsd.net

Multimedia Club teaches members how to make movies and videos and produces programming for the North Hills School District such as sports events, a magazine format entertainment series and the high school video yearbook.

Literary Leaves
Jen Ortiz - ortizj@nhsd.net

National Honor Society
Lisa Palmieri - palmieril@nhsd.net

The National Honor Society recognizes students for scholarship (3.85 QPA), leadership, service and character.

Norhian (Yearbook)
Katie Baumgartel - baumgartelk@nhsd.net

Visit http://northhillsyb.wix.com/norhian

Orchestra
Len Lavelle - lavellel@nhsd.net

Orchestra welcomes any high school string player, regardless of ability. Wind, brass and percussion players are also members but their participation depends on an audition. Additionally, a small group from the orchestra meets outside of school to play electronic stringed instruments. The Rock Orchestra has performed at Arts Alive and for the Pennsylvania School Board Association’s annual conference.

Photo Club
Regina Moorby - moorbyr@nhsd.net

Photo Club stimulates interest in the field of photography and gives students an opportunity to gain practical experience in photography.

Poetry Club
Jen Sturges– sturgesj@nhsd.net / zahorchakd@nhsd.net

Pottery Club
Jason Hillegas - hillegasj@nhsd.net

Pottery Club offers the opportunity for students with an interest in pottery to gain more experience and make pieces for Arts Alive.

SADD
Michelle Medic - medicm@nhsd.net

SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions) educates students on the dangers of drunk driving and other drug-related issues by attending conferences and sponsoring presentations such as the mock disaster each spring.

Science Club
Jen Ortiz - ortizj@nhsd.net

Science Club demonstrates science activities North Hills middle and elementary school students.

Spanish Club
Barb Foster - fosterb@nhsd.net

Spanish Club activities educate students about Spanish culture and traditions.

Student Council
Jen DiPasquale - dipasqualej@nhsd.net

Student Council establishes a democratic forum in which the students can address school-related issues affecting their education.

Varsity Club
Amy Scheunemun - scheunemuna@nhsd.net 
 
The Varsity club is to include students in the development and success of the NH Athletic program. 

High School Class Sponsors
John Kane and Stephanie Lucas - kanej@nhsd.net/lucass@nhsd.net

North Hills Ice Hockey Club
Trista Rodriguez – trista7379@gmail.com

Inline Roller Hockey
Mike Wiseman – michaelpwiseman@yahoo.com

Bowling
Ron Simpson - rdsimpson15@yahoo.com

Slow Pitch Softball
Ed Vesely - epvesely@gmail.com

North Hill School District Logo
North Hills School District
135 Sixth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15229
Phone: 412-318-1000 Fax: 412-318-1084
About
Schools
Academics
Athletics & Activities
Parents
Administration
School Board
Alumni
© 2017. North Hills School District. School CMS created by eSchoolView