North Hills School District News Article

Students honored at 2022 NHEA Excellence Awards

Posted Thursday, May 12, 2022

The 2022 North Hills Education Association (NHEA) Excellence Achievement Awards were held on Thursday, May 12, at the North Hills Middle School.

The annual awards recognize select fifth, eighth and twelve grade students for their outstanding academic achievements, good citizenship, positive personality traits and work ethic, and involvement in extracurricular activities.

The chosen students are chosen through a committee nomination and voting process.

This year's winners are as follows:

Elementary - Grade 5

Highcliff Elementary School

Michael Duty
Adelia Hatalsky
Lea Mayer
Violet Taylor

McIntyre Elementary School

Lily Balousek
Trevor Francis
Mina Jin
Anderson Terhune
Morgan Wirtz

Ross Elementary School

Max Anderson
Aubrey Hitchcock
Jocelyn Long
Wesley Wilkinson

West View Elementary School

Sam Chips
Makenna Futrell
Korben Vaugn
Macie Zinger

North Hills Middle School

Team Carnegie
Linnea Polen
Jayshri Shah

Team Heinz
Ellie Kim
Adelaide Seigworth

Team Westinghouse
Danica Dolecki
Magdalen West

North Hills High School - Grade 12

Art - Veronica Yeschke
Business, Computer & Information Technologies - Matthew Kulka
English - Lauryn Palone
Health & Physical Education - Brigid Clark
Family & Consumer Sciences
- Jenny Snyder
Math - Emma Kim
Music - Elizabeth Satarino
Science - Emma Kim
Social Studies - Brady Trent
Speech/Drama - Quinn Peters
Technology Education - Riley Davis
World Language - Elli Topnick

The NHEA awarded its MaryLou Stefanko Scholarship to Lauren McCarthy. The $1,000 scholarship is given to a deserving senior planning to continue their education at an accredited two- or four- year secondary institution. For consideration, the student must have demonstrated their work ethic through commitment to academic excellence and community service.

Congratulations to all!

MaryLou Stefanko was an elementary teacher in the North Hills School District for 63 years before her retirement in 2019. She was and continues to be a prominent figure in the Pennsylvania State Education Association (PSEA), fighting not only for educators but for what's in the best educational interest of our students. The NHEA scholarship was renamed in her honor the year she retired.

View text-based website